WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

The girl with the dragon heart /

by Burgis, Stephanie [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Burgis, Stephanie. Dragon Heart: 2.Publisher: New York : Bloomsbury Children's Books, [2018]Description: 277 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9781681196978; 1681196972.Subject(s): Spy stories | Queens -- Juvenile fiction | Princesses -- Juvenile fiction | Fairies -- Juvenile fiction | Magic -- Juvenile fiction | Dragons -- Juvenile fiction | Chocolate -- Juvenile fiction | Spies -- Fiction | Kings, queens, rulers, etc. -- Fiction | Fairies -- Fiction | Magic -- Fiction | Dragons -- Fiction | Chocolate -- Fiction | Fantasy | Fiction | Juvenile works | Spy fiction | Fantasy fictionSummary: Silke has an unexpected opportunity to learn what happened to her parents years before when Princess Katrin asks her to stay at the palace as a spy during a visit from the rulers of Elfenwald.-- Provided by Publisher.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Fiction J BUR Available 39270004759423

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> A chocolate-filled, girl-powered fantasy with a witty heroine who learns what home truly means, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale. <br> <br> "Will satisfy readers who hunger for feel-good tales that pack a girl-power punch, like Gail Carson Levine's Ella Enchanted or the movie Moana ." -- School Library Journal on The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart <br> <br> Silke has always been good at spinning the truth and storytelling. So good that, just years after arriving in the kingdom as a penniless orphan, she has found her way to working for the most splendid chocolate makers in the city as a master promoter. Although Silke loves her work at the Chocolate Heart, she's certain it's not going to last, and what Silke wants more than anything is somewhere to call home--somewhere safe . But when your best friend is a dragon-turned-hot-tempered-girl, trouble is always right around the corner.<br> <br> Then Silke gets the opportunity she's been waiting for: the Crown Princess personally asks her to spy on the Elfenwald royal family during their first visit to the kingdom. In return, Silke will have the home she's always wanted in the secure palace. But Silke has her own dark, secret reasons for not trusting fairies . . . and her mission isn't as simple as she hoped. Soon, she discovers that her city is in danger--and that maybe it's more her home than she ever realized.<br> <br> Can Silke find out the truth about the fairies while keeping her own secrets hidden?<br> <br> A Mighty Girl Best Book of the Year </p>

Silke has an unexpected opportunity to learn what happened to her parents years before when Princess Katrin asks her to stay at the palace as a spy during a visit from the rulers of Elfenwald.-- Provided by Publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

This companion to The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart focuses on dragon-turned-human chocolatier Aventurine's (human) friend Silke. Silke catches the attention of the princess, who assigns Silke spy duty over devious elves visiting the palace. But Silke has her own agenda: the elves took her parents years ago, and she's determined to find out what happened. Plucky Silke's first-person narrative reflects her strong, independent spirit. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select