WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

A blade so black /

by McKinney, L. L [author.]; Carroll, Lewis.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Imprint, [2018]Description: 370 pages : 22 cm.ISBN: 9781250153906; 1250153905.Subject(s): Nightmares -- Fiction | Good and evil -- Fiction | Atlanta (Ga.) -- Fiction | Dreams -- Fiction | Magic -- Fiction | Imaginary wars and battles -- Fiction | Imaginary places -- Fiction | Teenage girls -- Fiction | African Americans -- Fiction | Adventure and adventurers -- Fiction | Interpersonal relations -- Fiction | Characters in literature -- Fiction | Atlanta (Ga.) -- Fiction | Fantasy | Urban fiction | Fantasy fiction | Action and adventure fiction | Fiction | Young adult worksSummary: "A Blade So Black delivers an irresistible urban fantasy retelling of Alice in Wonderland ... but it's not the Wonderland you remember. The first time the Nightmares came, it nearly cost Alice her life. Now she's trained to battle monstrous creatures in the dark dream realm known as Wonderland with magic weapons and hardcore fighting skills. Yet even warriors have a curfew. Life in real-world Atlanta isn't always so simple, as Alice juggles an overprotective mom, a high-maintenance best friend, and a slipping GPA. Keeping the Nightmares at bay is turning into a full-time job. But when Alice's handsome and mysterious mentor is poisoned, she has to find the antidote by venturing deeper into Wonderland than she's ever gone before. And she'll need to use everything she's learned in both worlds to keep from losing her head ... literally. Debut author L.L. McKinney delivers an action-packed twist on an old classic, full of romance and otherworldly intrigue."--Amazon.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC MCK Available 39270004740456

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>" A Blade So Black is the fantasy book I've been waiting for my whole life ."<br> --Angie Thomas, #1 New York Times -bestselling author of The Hate U Give <br> <br> For fans of Marissa Meyer, L.L. McKinney's A Blade So Black delivers an irresistible urban fantasy retelling of Alice in Wonderland ... but it's not the Wonderland you remember.<br> <br> The first time the Nightmares came, it nearly cost Alice her life. Now she's trained to battle monstrous creatures in the dark dream realm known as Wonderland with magic weapons and hardcore fighting skills. Yet even warriors have a curfew.<br> <br> Life in real-world Atlanta isn't always so simple, as Alice juggles an overprotective mom, a high-maintenance best friend, and a slipping GPA. Keeping the Nightmares at bay is turning into a full-time job. But when Alice's handsome and mysterious mentor is poisoned, she has to find the antidote by venturing deeper into Wonderland than she's ever gone before. And she'll need to use everything she's learned in both worlds to keep from losing her head... literally.<br> <br> Debut author L.L. McKinney delivers an action-packed twist on an old classic, full of romance and otherworldly intrigue.<br> <br> And don't miss the thrilling sequel, A Dream So Dark !<br> <br> An Imprint Book <br> <br> "Mixing elements of Alice in Wonderland and Buffy the Vampire Slayer ... Delectable." -- Entertainment Weekly </p>

"A Blade So Black delivers an irresistible urban fantasy retelling of Alice in Wonderland ... but it's not the Wonderland you remember. The first time the Nightmares came, it nearly cost Alice her life. Now she's trained to battle monstrous creatures in the dark dream realm known as Wonderland with magic weapons and hardcore fighting skills. Yet even warriors have a curfew. Life in real-world Atlanta isn't always so simple, as Alice juggles an overprotective mom, a high-maintenance best friend, and a slipping GPA. Keeping the Nightmares at bay is turning into a full-time job. But when Alice's handsome and mysterious mentor is poisoned, she has to find the antidote by venturing deeper into Wonderland than she's ever gone before. And she'll need to use everything she's learned in both worlds to keep from losing her head ... literally. Debut author L.L. McKinney delivers an action-packed twist on an old classic, full of romance and otherworldly intrigue."--Amazon.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

In this compelling reimagining of Carroll's famous heroine, we are introduced to a black Alice who courageously battles monsters appropriately called Nightmares in the dream realm of Wonderland. Alice also battles grief in the loss of her father, violence in her Atlanta neighborhood, and a clingy mom. In this action-packed fantasy remix, readers will simultaneously cheer our heroine and hang on for the ride. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select