WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

The queen's rising /

by Ross, Rebecca [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Harperteen, 2018.Edition: First edition.Description: 439 pages : map, genealogical tables ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062471345; 0062471341.Subject(s): Art -- Study and teaching -- Fiction | Art patronage -- Fiction | Imaginary places -- Fiction | Imaginary wars and battles -- Fiction | Teenage girls -- Fiction | Family secrets -- Fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fantasy fictionSummary: When her seventeenth summer solstice arrives, Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron. Growing up in the southern kingdom of Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her. While some are born with a talent for one of the five passions - art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge - Brienna struggled to find hers until she chose knowledge. However, despite all her preparations, Brienna's greatest fear comes true: she is left without a patron. Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, she reluctantly accepts. But there is much more to his story, for there is a dangerous plot to overthrow the king of Maevana - the rival kingdom of Valenia - and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the northern throne. And others are involved, some closer to Brienna than she realizes. With war brewing, Brienna must choose which side she will remain loyal to - passion or blood. Because a queen is destined to rise and lead the battle to reclaim the crown. Who will be that queen?
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC ROS Available 39270004670927

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>In this epic debut fantasy, inspired by Renaissance France, an outcast finds herself bound to a disgraced lord and entangled in his plot to overthrow the king. Perfect for fans of Grave Mercy and Red Queen!</p> <p>Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron. Growing up in Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her. While some are born with a talent for one of the five passions--art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge--Brienna struggled to find hers until she chose knowledge. However, Brienna's greatest fear comes true: she is left without a patron.</p> <p>Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, she reluctantly accepts. But there is much more to his story, for there is a dangerous plot to overthrow the king of Maevana--the rival kingdom of Valenia--and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the throne.</p> <p>With war brewing, Brienna must choose which side she will remain loyal to: passion or blood.</p> <p>Plus don't miss the thrilling sequel, The Queen's Resistance!</p>

When her seventeenth summer solstice arrives, Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron. Growing up in the southern kingdom of Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her. While some are born with a talent for one of the five passions - art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge - Brienna struggled to find hers until she chose knowledge. However, despite all her preparations, Brienna's greatest fear comes true: she is left without a patron. Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, she reluctantly accepts. But there is much more to his story, for there is a dangerous plot to overthrow the king of Maevana - the rival kingdom of Valenia - and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the northern throne. And others are involved, some closer to Brienna than she realizes. With war brewing, Brienna must choose which side she will remain loyal to - passion or blood. Because a queen is destined to rise and lead the battle to reclaim the crown. Who will be that queen?

Novelist Select