WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

Wicked like a wildfire /

by Popović, Lana [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Popović, Lana. Hibiscus daughter: book 1.Publisher: New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2017]Edition: First edition.Description: 405 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062436832; 006243683X.Other title: Wicked like a wild fire.Subject(s): Twin sisters -- Juvenile fiction | Magic -- Juvenile fiction | Blessing and cursing -- Juvenile fiction | Mothers and daughters -- Juvenile fiction | Twins -- Fiction | Sisters -- Fiction | Magic -- Fiction | Blessing and cursing -- Fiction | Fantasy | Fantasy fiction | Fiction | Juvenile works | Young adult works | Young adult fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fantasy fictionSummary: Twins Iris and Malina have been born with a gleam -- a unique way of using magic to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. They must keep their gifts a secret, and are not allowed to share their magic with anyone. Above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. When their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line. And the very magic that bonds them together may be destined to tear them apart forever.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC POP Available 39270004662775

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>"Lush. Delicious. Bewildering. And darkly magical. Popovic has created a world that you tumble into from the very first words and wish you could stay in forever." --Evelyn Skye, author of The Crown's Game</p> <p>"Wicked Like a Wildfire was like devouring a succulent fairy fruit--it will rob your time, settle into your dreams, and leave you starving for more." --Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author of The Star-Touched Queen</p> <p>Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic's debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates--and hearts--of twin sisters to a force larger than life.</p> <p>All the women in Iris and Malina's family have the unique magical ability or "gleam" to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. But their mother has strict rules to keep their gifts a secret, even in their secluded sea-side town. Iris and Malina are not allowed to share their magic with anyone, and above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. <br> <br> <br> <br> But when their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters will have to unearth the truth behind the quiet lives their mother has built for them. They will discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line--but will they find that the very magic that bonds them together is destined to tear them apart forever?</p> <p>Wicked Like a Wildfire is the first in a two-book series. Readers will be rapt with anticipation for the sequel.</p>

Twins Iris and Malina have been born with a gleam -- a unique way of using magic to manipulate beauty. Iris sees flowers as fractals and turns her kaleidoscope visions into glasswork, while Malina interprets moods as music. They must keep their gifts a secret, and are not allowed to share their magic with anyone. Above all, they are forbidden from falling in love. When their mother is mysteriously attacked, the sisters discover a wicked curse that haunts their family line. And the very magic that bonds them together may be destined to tear them apart forever.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Twins Iris and Malina share a "gleam"--a magical ability to manipulate beauty--whose mythic origins and troubling endpoint they uncover when they pursue a mysterious white-haired woman who appears just as their mother suffers a deadly attack. Overlong but thickly textured with sensual descriptions, this folklore-based novel set in Montenegro builds to an agonizing choice over which sister will sacrifice for their mutual fate. (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select