WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

When we were worthy /

by Whalen, Marybeth Mayhew [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Seattle : Lake Union Publishing, [2017]Description: 264 pages ; 21 cm.ISBN: 9781503941601.Subject(s): Traffic accidents -- Fiction | Cheerleaders -- Fiction | Football players -- Fiction | Secrecy -- Fiction | Georgia -- Fiction
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Adult Collection Adult Fiction FIC WHA Available 39270004586891

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> A win brought them together, but loss may tear them apart. </p> <p>When the sound of sirens cuts through a cool fall night, the small town of Worthy, Georgia, hurtles from triumph to tragedy. Just hours before, they'd watched the Wildcats score a winning touchdown. Now, they're faced with the deaths of three cheerleaders--their promising lives cut short in a fatal crash. And the boy in the other car--the only one to survive--is believed to be at fault. As rumors begin to fly and accusations spin, allegiances form and long-kept secrets emerge.</p> <p>At the center of the whirlwind are four women, each grappling with loss, regret, shame, and lies: Marglyn, a grieving mother; Darcy, whose son had been behind the wheel; Ava, a substitute teacher with a scandalous secret; and Leah, a cheerleader who should have been in the car with her friends, but wasn't. If the truth comes out, will it bring redemption--or will it be their downfall?</p>

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

On a crisp, fall football Friday night in Worthy, GA, the Wildcats play to win and the whole town shows up to watch. Afterward, three of the four elite varsity cheerleaders, Mary Claire "M.C"; Brynne; and inexperienced, nervous designated driver -Keary, pile into a car on their way to celebrate. -Graham, who didn't make the team even as the son of a Worthy Wildcat legend, gets in his new car for the first time and heads out as well. When the vehicles collide, the deaths of all three girls fracture the town. Cheerleader Leah, who was not in the car, struggles to explain why she wasn't there, and Graham, the lone crash survivor found guilty by the jury of public opinion, face the questions and wrath of devastated families and friends. This tale is told alternately by Leah, Graham's mother, M.C's mother, and Ava, a substitute teacher, as each grapples with secrets that, if made public, could lead to healing or ruin. -VERDICT -Whalen (The Things We Wish Were True) delivers small-town anguish, anger, gossip, and heartbreak in this page-turner. For readers of Jodi Picoult and lovers of -Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies.-Susan Santa, Shelter Rock P. L., Albertson, NY © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select