WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

The Dragon's Legacy /

by Wolf, Deborah A. (Novelist).
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Wolf, Deborah A. Dragon's legacy saga: Publisher: London : Titan Books, 2017.Edition: First edition.Description: xx, 487 pages : map ; 25 cm.ISBN: 9781785651076; 1785651072.Subject(s): Dragons -- Fiction | Deserts -- Fiction | Wizards -- Fiction | Dragons -- Fiction | Deserts -- Fiction | Wizards -- Fiction | Fantasy fiction | Science fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fiction | Science fictionSummary: In the heart of the singing desert, the people are fading from the world. Mothers bear few live children, the warriors and wardens are hard-pressed to protect those who remain, and the vash'ai - the great cats who have called the people kithren for as long as there have been stories - bond with fewer humans each year. High above, the Sun Dragon sings a song of life and love while far below, the Earth Dragon slumbers as she has since the beginning of time. Her sleep is fitful, and from the darkness of her dreams come whispers of war ... and death. Sulema is a newly minted warrior of the people and a true Ja'Akari - a daughter of the unforgiving desert. When a mysterious young man appears in her home of Aish Kalumm, she learns that the Dragon King is dying in distant Atualon. As the king fades, so does the magic that sings the Earth Dragon to sleep. There are those who wish to keep the dragon trapped in endless slumber. Others would tap her power to claim it for their own. And there are those who would have her wake, so they might laugh as the world burns.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Adult Collection Adult Science Fiction SF WOL Available 39270004568386

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Epic fantasy in the tradition of Guy Gavriel Kay and Jacqueline Carey. "A world of large-scale epic fantasy... This is a rare find and not to be missed." New York Times bestselling author Barb Hendee. <br> <br> In the heart of the singing desert, the people are fading from the world. Mothers bear few live children, the warriors and wardens are hard-pressed to protect those who remain, and the vash'ai--the great cats who have called the people kithren for as long as there have been stories--bond with fewer humans each year. High above, the Sun Dragon sings a song of life and love while far below, the Earth Dragon slumbers as she has since the beginning of time. Her sleep is fitful, and from the darkness of her dreams come whispers of war... and death.<br> <br> Sulema is a newly minted warrior of the people and a true Ja'Akari--a daughter of the unforgiving desert. When a mysterious young man appears in her home of Aish Kalumm, she learns that the Dragon King is dying in distant Atualon. As the king fades, so does the magic that sings the Earth Dragon to sleep.<br> <br> <br> <br> There are those who wish to keep the dragon trapped in endless slumber. Others would tap her power to claim it for their own. And there are those who would have her wake, so they might laugh as the world burns.

In the heart of the singing desert, the people are fading from the world. Mothers bear few live children, the warriors and wardens are hard-pressed to protect those who remain, and the vash'ai - the great cats who have called the people kithren for as long as there have been stories - bond with fewer humans each year. High above, the Sun Dragon sings a song of life and love while far below, the Earth Dragon slumbers as she has since the beginning of time. Her sleep is fitful, and from the darkness of her dreams come whispers of war ... and death. Sulema is a newly minted warrior of the people and a true Ja'Akari - a daughter of the unforgiving desert. When a mysterious young man appears in her home of Aish Kalumm, she learns that the Dragon King is dying in distant Atualon. As the king fades, so does the magic that sings the Earth Dragon to sleep. There are those who wish to keep the dragon trapped in endless slumber. Others would tap her power to claim it for their own. And there are those who would have her wake, so they might laugh as the world burns.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

The people of the Zeera, surrounded by fierce predators, with sparse resources and the few children born to them, are proud of their resilience; they train young women like Sulema to be Ja'Akari-warrior -protectors of their desert home. Sulema's celebration of her elevation to Ja'Akari is interrupted by visitors from the Dragon King in Atualon. The king's men have been looking for her and her mother for years, as Sulema is the king's daughter and she is needed. This debut packs a lot of worldbuilding into a series opener, introducing Sulema and the people of the Zeera as well as the court of the Dragon King, a rival empire in neighboring Sindan. VERDICT Many elements typical of epic fantasy appear-hidden heirs, sleeping dragons, spider cults-but Wolf does a good job of laying out her game board of rival powers and setting the tone for what is sure to be an interesting new series.-MM © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select