WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

Of fire and stars /

by Coulthurst, Audrey [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2016]Edition: First edition.Description: 389 pages : map ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062433251; 0062433253.Subject(s): Princesses -- Juvenile fiction | Horses -- Juvenile fiction | Fire -- Juvenile fiction | Magic -- Juvenile fiction | Assassination -- Juvenile fiction | Man-woman relationships -- Juvenile fiction | Fantasy fiction | Young adult fiction | Marriage -- Fiction | Magic -- Fiction | Love -- Fiction | Lesbians -- Fiction | Fantasy fiction | Science fiction | Fantasy fiction | Young adult fictionSummary: "Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire--a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden. Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria's formidable warhorses before her coronation--and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed. When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought--and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more. But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms--and each other." -- Publishers description.
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult: LGBTQ+ Titles
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC COU Long Overdue (Lost) 39270004543207

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>An atmospheric and romantic debut fantasy perfect for fans of Ash and The Winner's Curse.</p> <p>Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms.</p> <p>But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire--a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden.</p> <p>Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria's formidable warhorses before her coronation--and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed.</p> <p>When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought--and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more.</p> <p>But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms--and each other.</p> <p>Plus don't miss the sequel: Of Ice and Shadows!</p>

Young Adult.

900 Lexile

Accelerated Reader 5.6

Reading Counts! 6.2

"Betrothed since childhood to the prince of Mynaria, Princess Dennaleia has always known what her future holds. Her marriage will seal the alliance between Mynaria and her homeland, protecting her people from other hostile kingdoms. But Denna has a secret. She possesses an Affinity for fire--a dangerous gift for the future queen of a land where magic is forbidden. Now Denna has to learn the ways of her new kingdom while trying to hide her growing magic. To make matters worse, she must learn to ride Mynaria's formidable warhorses before her coronation--and her teacher is the person who intimidates her most, the prickly and unconventional Princess Amaranthine, sister of her betrothed. When a shocking assassination leaves the kingdom reeling, Mare and Denna reluctantly join forces to search for the culprit. As the two work together, they discover there is more to one another than they thought--and soon their friendship is threatening to blossom into something more. But with dangerous conflict brewing that makes the alliance more important than ever, acting on their feelings could be deadly. Forced to choose between their duty and their hearts, Mare and Denna must find a way to save their kingdoms--and each other." -- Publishers description.

Novelist Select