WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

The assignment /

by Olsen, Mark Andrew.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Minneapolis : Bethany House, c2004Description: 462 p. ; 22 cm.ISBN: 076422817X (pbk.) :.Title notes: $12.99 prolam 3-2005 (SPM)Subject(s): Immortalism -- Fiction | Good and evil -- Fiction | Christian fiction | Fantasy fictionOnline resources: Table of contents
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Adult Collection Adult Fiction FIC OLS Available 39270002642878

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

With the action and suspense of a Ted Dekker novel and the spiritual warfare of This Present Darkness , Olsen's first solo novel poses an intriguing question. What if the Restrainer of II Thessalonians, the Holy Spirit who "holds back the lawless man until God takes him away," indwells a man who has lived under various identities since the time of Christ, always moving on when his "agelessness" is discovered? An immortal man, but still just a man, #65533;awed and discouraged over his inability to better succeed at his immense mission: to restrain evil in the world. And what if at a time when the world hangs on the precipice of a third world war, this man were given one final opportunity to do battle with the Evil One?

$12.99 prolam 3-2005 (SPM)

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Father Stephen has heard of the secret Church society known as the Order of St. Lazare, but he does not believe that it really exists until Father Dennis invites him to join this mysterious sect. After Father Dennis explains its mission, Stephen agrees to join in its search to find the "Restrainer," a man chosen by God to hold back evil until the end of this age. The order believes that this man, who has not been able to die in over 2000 years, is buried in the cemetery of the former Polish concentration camp Birkenau, a place where Stephen can still smell "the perpetual stench of evil." Some conservative Christians may find the theology in this suspenseful novel a bit farfetched, but Olsen's multifaceted plot of good and evil is a page-turner. This title makes a great follow-up for fans of Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code and will also appeal to readers of Ted Dekker and Frank E. Peretti. Highly recommended for all collections. Olsen, who co-wrote Hadassah: One Night with the King with Tommy Tenney, lives in Colorado Springs, CO. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select